Skip to content

Steering Group

The Steering Group is responsible for the overall coordination of CaRN activity and strategy.

Organisation and membership

The Steering Group reports to the Local Network Leads and Institutional Leads, and to the Stakeholder Engagement Group, by means of an annual report (in July) and meeting (in March). The current Steering Group will continue until DATE; the membership of the Steering Group and a process for appointing new members will be developed from March 2022.

Robert Thibault is a Canadian Postdoctoral Scholar currently working with the Meta-Research Innovation Center at Stanford University (METRICS). His work focuses on developing and testing initiatives that can facilitate a trustworthy and efficient research ecosystem.

Clare Ardern is a Research Scientist at the University of British Columbia with expertise in sports medicine, rehabilitation and meta-research. Her work focuses on the impact of health research on public policy,  meta-research can help clinicians make quality decisions, and return to sport after injury.

Kelly Cobey is a Scientist at the University of Ottawa Heart Institute where she is the Director of the Meta-Research and Open Science Program. Her research interests include: research reporting, data management and sharing best practices,  reproducibility, and patient engagement in research.

Karim Khan is Scientific Director, CIHR-Institute of Musculoskeletal Health and Arthritis and Professor, University of British Columbia. He is interested in grant peer review and methods to achieve consensus in research.

David Moher is Professor of Epidemiology and Public Health, University of Ottawa and Director, Centre for Journalology, Ottawa Hospital Research Institute. He is interested in researcher assessment, reporting guidelines, and systematic reviews.